Netwatch launch of Kilkenny/Carlow Garda Youth Awards

At the launch of the Kilkenny/Carlow Youth Awards at the Carlow Garda Station were Evanne Ní Chuilinn (RTÉ sports presenter), David Walsh ( main sponsor Co-Founder_Group CEO) and Kilkenny hurling great Henry Sheflin.

Recognising the young people who make our county special!

Netwatch is proud to sponsor the inaugural Kilkenny / Carlow Garda Youth Awards, celebrating outstanding young people between the ages of 13 and 21 years of age.  Gardai throughout Kilkenny and Carlow, together with Netwatch recognise that a lot of good work is being done by young people in every community throughout Kilkenny and Carlow.

The Awards will celebrate the young people who – by their presence –  make their communities a better place to live or who have shown great determination in their own lives. Groups of two or more young people whose combined efforts have contributed positively will also be considered.

Members of groups, organisations and the general public can nominate any young person between the ages of 13 and 21 for an award.  The nominations will go before a judging panel which includes Henry Shefflin, Chief Supt Dominic Hayes (pictured above) David Walsh of Netwatch, Inspector Liam Connolly, retired judge William Early and Kilkenny People Editor Brian Keyes.   The Awards will be presented at a gala ceremony with RTÉ’s Evanne Ni Chuillin later in the year.

David Walsh, Chief Executive said; “We have tremendous young people in Carlow and Kilkenny who are doing their counties proud every day in the small and big ways they are contributing to their local communities. Whether it’s visiting older people in their areas; helping with tidy towns; establishing youth centres; representing their school, village, town and county in the fields of sport and music – we all know a young person who deserves to be recognised for their efforts.  We’re delighted to be involved in this very positive initiative, along with the Gardai and Kilkenny and Carlow local authorities.

Speaking at the launch, Chief Supt Hayes said: “It’s a joint approach. It’s about collaboration and working together to ensure each and every community improves. The excellence in both counties that we’ve seen firsthand needs to be rewarded.”

Awards will be presented in the following categories:

Individual Award:  Making a positive contribution to their community, making it a better place to live.

Group Award: Groups of 2 or more, making a positive contribution to their community, making it a better place to live.

Special Achievement Award: Overcoming difficult circumstances, defied all the odds, and whose commitment deserves recognition

Community Safety Award: Through a crime prevention or safety initiative / innovation, have made their community a safer place to live.